Freedom to Read Foundation announces nominating committee

Freedom to Read Foundation

The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) has announced the nominating committee for its April 2010 election.  Members are: Candace Morgan, Portland, Ore. (chair); Christine Jenkins, Champaign, Ill.; and Burton Joseph, Chicago.

Five positions on the FTRF board of trustees will be filled in the election to be held April 1 — May 1, 2010.  Newly elected trustees will serve a two-year term on the board, beginning at the close of the 2010 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference and continuing through the end of the 2012 ALA Annual Conference.  Trustees are required to attend two one-day meetings per year, in conjunction with the ALA Annual Conference and Midwinter Meeting.

Only FTRF members are eligible to seek election to the board.

Nominations should be sent by Jan. 13, 2010 to: Freedom to Read Foundation, Attn: Candace Morgan, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611.  In addition, nominations may be e-mailed to  FTRF members also may be slated for candidacy by petition by submitting 25 signatures of current FTRF members in support of the candidate.  The executive director of the Foundation must receive names of petition candidates and the required signatures to support each no later than Jan. 29, 2010.