IFRT Award Deadlines Fast Approaching…

General Interest, Intellectual Freedom Round Table, Office for Intellectual Freedom

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table is seeking nominees for its three IF awards.  Each award celebrates the achievements of librarians, writers, and citizens in their defense of our basic right to read and express ideas.

  • The John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award honors intellectual freedom fighters in and outside the library profession who have demonstrated remarkable personal courage in resisting censorship. The award consists of $500 and a citation. Individuals, groups of individuals, or  organizations are eligible for the award.
  • The Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award is presented for the best published work in the area of intellectual freedom. Works to be considered for the award may be single articles (including review pieces), series of thematically connected articles, books, or manuals published on the local, state, or national level in English or English translation.
  • The ProQuest/SIRS State and Regional Intellectual Freedom Achievement Award is given to the most innovative and effective intellectual freedom project covering a state or region. Programs may be one-time, one-year, or ongoing/multi-year efforts. The award consists of a citation and $1,000 donated by ProQuest.

The deadline for nomination is December 1. If you have any questions about these awards, please contact Nanette Perez (nperez@ala.org) at the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom.