2011 Freedom to Read Foundation Election Results


The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) is pleased to announce the winners of its 2011 board of trustees election, held in April.  Six trustees were elected to two-year terms, beginning in June: Helen Adams, Jonathan Bloom, Chris Finan, Christine Jenkins, Herbert Krug and Candace Morgan.  Bloom, Jenkins and Morgan were re-elected. Adams and Krug are newly elected, and Finan, who was a trustee in 2006, is currently serving out the term of Susan Hildreth, who resigned to become director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

These trustees will join Kent Oliver (Canton, Ohio), Judith Platt (Washington, D.C.), Carol Brey-Casiano (Washington, D.C.), Mary Minow (Cupertino, Calif.), and James G. Neal (New York) as elected board members.  The American Library Association president (Molly Raphael), president-elect (Maureen Sullivan), executive director (Keith Michael Fiels) and Intellectual Freedom Committee chair (Pat Scales) serve on the board as ex-officio.  Barbara Jones is the secretary of the board and executive director of the Foundation.

For biographical information on the six election winners can be found at http://ala.org/ala/newspresscenter/news/pr.cfm?id=7256.

For more information on the Freedom to Read Foundation, visit http://www.ftrf.org.