Finding the Right Balance with Children’s Books

Banned and Challenged Books, Censorship, GLBTQ, Intellectual Freedom Issues, Online learning

If you check your catalog for these picture books, where will you find them shelved?penguin-book-ban-390x285

  • And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell
  • This Day in June by Gayle Pitman
  • Heather Has Two Mommies by Lesléa Newman
  •  I am Jazz by Jessica Herthel and Jazz Jennings
  • Stella Brings the Family by Miriam Shiffer
  • In Our Mother’s House by Patricia Polacco
  • The Family Book by Todd Parr
  • My Princess Boy by Cheryl Kilodavis
  • King and King by Linda de Haan and Stern Nijland

Are they shelved among other picture books? Are they in the non-fiction classified under zoos, families, GLBTQ, or parades/holidays? Are they shelved in the adult collection? Do you keep them behind the desk? Do you have a special shelf for “Parenting” or “Mature” or “Controversial” books? Are they hidden? Are they kept in an office? Do you even have them in your collection?

Join us for an online conversation sponsored by Intellectual Freedom Round Table and the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table

Picture Books and Challenges: Dealing with Controversial Topics in Children’s Collections webinar on November 18, 2015 @ 1pm CST

FREE for IFRT and GLBTRT MEMBERS!

Librarians are tasked with providing a wide variety of viewpoints and information. Sometimes there are conflicts with where and how children’s books are cataloged to accommodate what parents and caregivers feel is right for their children. How do we balance open access, accurate classification, and ease of use for all families without discrimination? Learn about a variety of the issues surrounding this topic as well as ways to help navigate them in your library.

This webinar is specifically designed as a conversation. We want everyone involved to share ideas about the best practices for their individual libraries and communities to balance access and managing sensibilities.

LIVE_webinar11November 18th
2:00 PM EST  —  1:00 PM CST  —  12:00 PM MST  —  11:00 AM PST
Register: http://www.ala.org/advocacy/picturebookswebinar

This webinar is FREE to members of GLBTRT and IFRT

Sponsored by ALA’s Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Roundtable and Intellectual Freedom Roundtable. If you’d like to add a round table to your membership, contact Member and Customer Service (MACS) for the prorated cost which is based on when your membership is set to expire. GLBT-RT and IFRT offer a full year’s individual membership for only $15 which is already less expensive then the cost of the webinar. The easiest way is to call MACS directly and speak with our friendly customer service specialists at 1-800-545-2433, option 5. You can also email membership@ala.org or visit online www.ala.org/membership/joinala.

Leave a Reply