Don’t Get Sued because of your Meeting Rooms!

Intellectual Freedom Manual, Office for Intellectual Freedom, Online learning, Policies

Crafting Meeting Room Policies that Keep You In Charge and Out of Court
November 4, 2015 @ 1pm CST

LIVE_webinar11Legal advocacy groups are threatening legal action and filing lawsuits against public libraries whose meeting room policies exclude religious worship or meetings that include religious activities.

In the last year, these organizations have contacted multiple different libraries about lawsuits regarding meeting room policies; including Lawrence Library in Massachusetts (settlement) and Wake County in North Carolina.

Theresa Chmara, general counsel for the Freedom to Read Foundation, and Deborah Caldwell Stone, deputy director for ALA’s Office for Intellectual Freedom, will discuss the First Amendment principles and legal precedents that underlie these lawsuits and provide practical guidance on crafting meeting room and other library policies that keep the library in charge of its meeting rooms while preserving users’ access and First Amendment rights.

Don’t wait until your library receives a lawsuit.  Learn how to strengthen your policies now.

November 4th
2:00 PM EST  —  1:00 PM CST  —  12:00 PM MST  —  11:00 AM PST
Register: http://www.ala.org/advocacy/meetingroomwebinar 

Leave a Reply